UK Government Has Added Four More Countries To Ban List.


TheEditorNGR reports that the United Kingdom government has added four new countries to the list of those banned from entering the UK due to the coronavirus prevalence.


This development was announced on Friday by the Department for Transport, noting that visitors from such countries would be banned from entering the UK as from next week.


The affected countries are Kenya, Bangladesh, the Philippines and Pakistan and will include anyone who left the countries or transited through them in the previous 10 days.

This online news platform understands that the ban would become effective as from 0300 GMT on April 9, Naija News understands.


However, UK and Irish nationals and those with UK residence rights arriving from those countries will have to quarantine in hotels for 10 days.


The department said the ban was to curb the risk of importing coronavirus “variants of concern” into the UK.

The new rules take the total number of red-listed countries to 39.