Connect with us


Breaking: APC Reverses Self, Disowns Governorship Campaign Council List



The Abdullahi Ganduje-led National Working Committee NWC of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC has disowned its list of National Campaign Councils for Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi governorship elections.

Party spokesman, Felix Morka on a statement on Tuesday night said; “The attention of the All Progressives Congress APC has been drawn to National Campaign Council Lists for the 11th November, 2023 Governorship Elections in Bayelsa, Kogi and Imo States in circulation in sections of the media. The lists are not official documents of the Party and should be disregarded”.


APC had earlier on Tuesday evening set up three National Campaign Councils for the November 11 governorship elections in Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi states.

Federal Capital Territory FCT minister, Nyesom Wike, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party PDP was Number 6 on the earlier list released by the party for the Bayelsa.

APC is not new to similar controversy as it had on October 19, 2022 named a Peoples Democratic Party PDP chieftain and Senator representing Enugu East Senatorial District, Mr Chimaroke Nnamani into its Presidential Campaign Council PCC.


Nnamani, a former governor of Enugu state was Number 350 on the 422-member campaign council and was listed as a member of the local government directorate.

Shortly after the list went viral in the media, the party reversed itself and dripped Nnamani.


In the governorship campaign lists released by APC on Tuesday evening, Gombe state Governor, Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya would chair the Bayelsa Campaign Council; Cross River state Governor, Bassey Otu will chair the 138-member Imo Campaign Council while Gov. Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state will chair 135-member council for Kogi.

The three Co-Chairmen for Kogi are Govs. Babajide Sanwo-olu (Lagos); Umar Bago (Niger) and Uba Sani (Kaduna).

Imo has Ebonyi state Governor, Francis Nwifuru; Deputy Speaker Benjamin Kalu and Minister of State, Labour and Employment, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha as Co-Chairmen.


Bayelsa has Defence minister, Mohammed Badaru, Senate President Godswill Akpabio and Secretary to the Government of the Federation SGF, Senator George Akume as Co-Chairmen.


Also Read...